Monastery of the Friars Minor Capuchin
About 4,000 Capuchin monks who died between 1528 and 1870 lie, hang, and adorn the crypt of Santa Maria della Concezion in Rome.
The Monastery of the Friars Minor Capuchin (Convento dei Frati Minori Cappuccini) of Via Veneto, visited each year by thousands of tourists for its crypt or ossuary, opens to the public on June 27 2012 with a multimedia museum, the perfect blend of modernity and spirituality.
Thanks to the use of holograms, touch screens and new interactive technology visitors to the museum will be guided in their quest to discover the key aspects of the culture of the Friars Minor Capuchin.
On display are pharmacy jars, woollen skullcaps, cilices, iron hooks for flagellation and pocket watches that alerted to the time for prayer. In addition are the seals of the Roman province, communion wafer holders, and gifts that the Romans donated over the centuries to the monks who were always meditating and preaching.
Remarkably, also on display is a work by Michelangelo Merisi, better known as Caravaggio, of Saint Francis in Prayer.
Via Vittorio Veneto, 27
Every day from 9.00 to 19.00 (last admission 18.30)
HOLIDAYS: Easter day closed - 2nd of november closed at 15:00 - 24th of december closed at 14:30 - 25th dicember closed - 31st dicember closed at 14:30 - 1st january closed
Double audio guide: 6.00
Groups Minimum 10 Persons: 6.00
Reduction for under 18 and over 65 years old: 5.00
Online purchase: www.tosc.it/tickets.html
Telephone: 06 88803695